PASS National Convention Honors Oustanding Leadership of Members

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Last week, PASS held its national convention in St. Louis, Missouri. Over 150 PASS members were in attendance, including 39 PASS convention delegates.

Guest speakers included: Randy Babbitt, FAA administrator; Terri Bristol, vice president of FAA Technical Operations; Rep. Jerry Costello (D-Ill.), chair of the House Aviation Subcommittee; Captain John Prater, president of the Air Line Pilots Association; and Larry Willis, general counsel of the Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO.

FAA Administrator Babbitt addressed convention attendees about the importance of fostering a collaborative relationship between the FAA and its unions and the importance of its workforce. "Let there be no doubt about it - you folks are a weight-bearing wall in the NAS [National Airspace System]," said Babbitt. "When it comes to maintenance and repair, inspection and certification, you get it done. You don't say a lot, but your work speaks volumes."

Chairman Costello highlighted PASS's role in working with the committee on FAA reauthorization legislation through testimony and the importance of repairing the long-suffering relationship between the FAA and its unions. "PASS appreciates the time and effort Chairman Costello has invested in always considering the workforce," said PASS President Tom Brantley. "He is a true champion of PASS issues and we appreciate his consistent support."

In addition to general convention business, awards were presented to several PASS members for outstanding leadership. "I would like to congratulate each and every award recipient for their hard work and commitment to strengthening PASS," said Brantley. "It is clear that the honorees posses an extraordinary amount of dedication to our union. For that, we are grateful." Award categories and winners include:

Ron Maeda Members Helping Members Award: Tim Doyen, Chapter KN1
Community Outreach Award: Tracey Hanlon, Chapter NG3
Solidarity Award: Chapter WA3
Safety Award: Tom Granitto, NG3
Gavel Award: Chapter WA3
Legislative Award: Lynda Bloomberg, Chapter NG3
Community Outreach Award: Jose Rosa, Chapter FL1
Support Award: Monika Warner, Chapter WA3
Mike Fanfalone Scholarship: Monika Warner, Chapter WA3
National Top Recruiter: Monika Warner, Chapter WA3
Region I Top Recruiter: Ed Tirado, Chapter NE3
Region II Top Recruiter: Dennis Vessel, Chapter TX1
Region III Top Recruiters: Pat Soffe, Chapter UT1, and Fred Barnes, Chapter CA1
Region IV Top Recruiter: James Wyrick, Chapter GA2
Region V Top Recruiter: James Pratt, MI2

For more information or questions, please contact Kori Blalock Keller at (202) 293-7277 x110.


For 36 years, PASS has represented more than 11,000 employees of the Federal Aviation Administration and the Department of Defense who install, maintain, support and certify air traffic control and national defense equipment, inspect and oversee the commercial and general aviation industries, develop flight procedures and perform quality analyses of the aviation systems. For more information, visit the PASS website at

1000 characters left